Ghost in The Shell.


MPC were commissioned to provide design & animation on Paramount Pictures’ ‘Ghost in the Shell’, directed by Rupert Sanders. The team was tasked to recreate the cyberpunk world of ‘New Port City’.


‘Ghost in the Shell’ is based on Japanese manga by Masamune Shirow, one of the most revered anime comics of all time. Cognisant of this rich legacy, the filmmakers of Hollywood’s live-action adaptation assembled a team – including MPC’s design team – to recreate the manga’s immersive world. MPC Design’s involvement on Ghost in the shell varied vastly from visualizing the world’s interface technology, virtual set dressing and the complex hologram deconstruction of the Major and Kuze.


Ghost in the Shell is one of the most revered anime films of all time. The film picked up many accolades including an Empire Awards, UK for Best Visual Effects and was nominated at the HPA Awards for Outstanding Visual Effects.

Rupert Saunders
Paramount Pictures
Post Production
View full credits

The main challenge was to create a futuristic portrayal of the world that was technically advanced but still felt authentic within the low-fi aesthetic of the film. A set of bespoke tools were designed specifically to meet the unique requirements of the project and close to 40 artists worked over a period of 6 months.

Post Production Team

Creative Director Ryan Jefferson Hays
Production VFX Supervisors Guillaume Rocheron, John Dykstra
VFX Supervisors Greg McKneally, Marcus Dryden
VFX Producer Russell Forde
VFX Production Coordinators Stefano Salvini, Goutham Hampankatta

VFX Team Steve Oakley, Pedrom Dadgostar, Hendrik Freuer, Mike Little, Ross McCabe, Thomas Carrick, Anthony Bloor, Flavia Minnone, Mattias Lullini, Michael Diprose, Marcel Ruegenberg, Florence Ciuccoli, Jacob T. Oommen, Elangovan Ganeshan, Earnest Victor, Alexander Kulikov, Alex Snookes, Alessandro Granella, Alessandro Granella, Sugumar S, Andreas Feix, Pratyush Paruchuri, Giles Hicks, Mohanakrishnan C, Denis Krez, Edward Taylor

Design Team James Brocklebank, Kerim Camdzic, Andrea Braga, Matthew Campbell, Florian Thamer, David Bauer, Michael Drayton, Gordon Spurs

Sound Team


Get in touch

If you'd like to discuss your project, contact our studio teams here:

Contact us
Get in touch


Sign up to receive community news, updates on latest work and exclusive invites to MPC events and experiences.

Sample image
Sample image
Sample image